Full Moon – Small Adventures

“Walk as if you are kissing the Earth with your feet.”
― Hanh Nhat Thich, Peace Is Every Step: The Path of Mindfulness in Everyday Life

 

Treyarnon first on the beach - Spring run

First Light Treyarnon Cornwall

 

Spring is a teasing mistress – appearing fresh, coy and full of promise only to be replaced hours later by the habitual grey of English winter.The faint stirrings of the new season have prompted my body to follow a rhythm of early rising and soon after the birds start their tentative morning musings, my day begins, the slow drudgery of winter replaced by a feeling altogether more hopeful, energetic and engaged.

The retreating clear, starry night had left in it’s wake a bright, hard hoary frost, the firm springing surface making a welcome change after the wallowing mud of most winter runs.

Running Treyarnon

Treyarnon Bay Early Morning Frost

 

Leaving drowsy children still dozing, I followed the Coastal Path from Treyarnon Northwards, trailing a small fishing vessel, white against the lapis sea, a child’s drawing of a boat, coasting lazily from bay to bay.

IMG_1496

Coastal Path North Treyarnon

 

Up the steep hill leading away from Booby’s bay the ground opens up into a dramatic crater – a collapsed sea cave, steep sides plummeting into a cavern of ocean many metres below. My guide told me it’s possible, in calm seas, to swim from the nearby beach into the mouth of the cave. The booming resonance from deep inside even today with the sea glassy calm, suggested this would be a real adventure….

Rock Pool collapsed sea cave

Trevose Round Hole

 

From Trevose, the path continued to rise sharply, crossing tiny rivulets of water which fell plunging over the adjacent cliffs, until the white outline of Trevone Light House appeared over the horizon.

 

IMG_1543

Trevone Light House

 

Running with camera in hand is unlikely to win me any races and provides a great excuse to pause and take in the view – particularly after a sweat inducing climb. Today’s run was not exception – from the gorse clad hills above the lighthouse, Padstow  and civilisation spread out in the valley below

 

 

IMG_1531

Padstow 

 

Over the years I seem to have developed a steady, sustainable, loping gait – somewhere between a jog and a run. On a good day  I can keep it up pretty much indefinitely and turning for home seems a shame in the face of such beauty.

IMG_1549_2

Booby’s Bay Low Tide

 

Consolation was quickly found in a short exploration of Booby’s Bay (the name never fails to make my children laugh…..)  and a sprint across the cliff top meadow to Treyarnon, coffee and a well deserved breakfast.

IMG_1561

Treyarnon Rock Pool

 

“The miracle is not to walk on water. The miracle is to walk on the green earth, dwelling deeply in the present moment and feeling truly alive.”
― Hanh Nhat Thich

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Full Moon – Small Adventures

  1. Susan – thank you – that has really made my day. I’d love to be able to bring everyone with me on these adventures and taking photos (which is very much a developing skill for me) is, at least, one way of sharing.

    Like

  2. Hi, Hannah. These are truly compelling captures. The soft lighting, the rocky landscape softened by the lighting, the play of shadows, all are rendered strongly here.

    I wonder whether you notice a correlation between the way the rocky landscape you photograph seems folded and softened by the light and the animal shapes you sculpt. Does the landscape you capture here have much bearing on the effect you attempt to achieve when you sculpt?

    I was curious about this because when I look at these photos, I also feel, like Susan does, that we’re catching a glimpse of your aesthetic values.

    Like

    1. Patrick – this is what I love about my attempts at learning to take photographs – it becomes much more than just a recreation of an image, the pictures I take do seem to reflect something much deeper about how I see the world. Your comment came at a time when I was just starting to realise that there are patterns in the images I find beautiful – perhaps something rugged, simple and flowing which is echoed in sculpture – and to some extent in my life generally. I love looking at other peoples work for the same reason – the images we choose seem to be some kind of mirror of our internal workings.
      Thanks for putting this into words in a way that I would never have managed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

